Ford Econoline E Series The full size van is alive and well at FMC, with the heart of the F series trucks in both cargo vans and passenger vans.

E250 transmission vibration when shifting to O/D

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2012, 08:04 AM
Default E250 transmission vibration when shifting to O/D

Newbie here,
I have a 97 E250 with a V-6, automatic O/D Trans. When I'm driving and it shifts into O/D, I notice a vibration when i'm at or around 50 and it actually sounds like i'm going over rumble strips. If I accelerate or let of the gas it goes away, and when i get to a cruising speed of 55-60 it don't do it anymore. The tranny doesn't slip in any gear, fluid/filter has been flushed and changed and level is normal. Fluid color is nice and red, no shavings or discoloration. If i switch off the O/D and drive around in 3rd, it does not do it at all so i know its only the O/D. Any ideas?

Old 12-03-2015, 09:26 PM

I wish someone had an answer to this...I'm having very similar issues with my 95 E250, except it gets worse when I give it more gas instead of better. But if I let off the gas it smooths out. When under load it gets really bad. I have to avoid hills because the vibration is unbearable at times.

Old 12-03-2015, 09:39 PM
Super Moderator

Originally Posted by Adam Lane
I wish someone had an answer to this...I'm having very similar issues with my 95 E250, except it gets worse when I give it more gas instead of better. But if I let off the gas it smooths out. When under load it gets really bad. I have to avoid hills because the vibration is unbearable at times.
How many miles on the trans? Last fluid service?