Ford Econoline E Series The full size van is alive and well at FMC, with the heart of the F series trucks in both cargo vans and passenger vans.

Help with Cylinder Misfire

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2015, 09:28 AM
Default Help with Cylinder Misfire

Hey all, posted elsewhere too but looking for all the advice i can get. We were given a 1998 E150 conversion van about a year ago from family. Told it never had issues, we did regular oil change type services and it ran ok until now.

The engine is the 4.6L Triton V8. 200k miles. It started missing recently and it seemed obvious it was either fuel starved or misfiring on a cylinder. Codes P0305 (Cyl5 misfire) and P0401 (EGR valve) showed up. assuming the p0401 was due to the p0305, i started digging online. Seems these tend to have coils that go bad? I'm not a great mechanic so with some advice from one that is i was led to believe that switching the coils on the plug side and on the coil pack side (both sides of wire anyway) would be a good test to see if it was the wire. I have no spark tester.

so with a borrowed code reader i removed air filter, found coil 5 next to cylinder 5 and after some time realized that unlike what i have seen online there are no screws holding these coils on the plug so i simply pulled it off. Traced it back to the coil pack and pulled that side off. Did the same for coil 6 wire. I then swapped them, cleared the code and started. It starts immediately but then dies out if you do not stay on the gas. It was not throwing any codes now but wouldn't stay running. So i put the cables back thinking at least it was running before and maybe time for a true mechanic. Nothing changed when i put them back to normal, it starts and dies out quickly if not on the gas. And of course there is no code. I let it run for about 30 seconds to try and throw a code but no luck. so seems i have made things worse somehow