Ford Econoline E Series The full size van is alive and well at FMC, with the heart of the F series trucks in both cargo vans and passenger vans.

shockjockey

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2015, 05:37 PM
Default shockjockey

Hi ford forum this is my first time on a forum my 19 year old son says its a great resource. Any help would be appreciated. I have a 2006 e 250 van 4.6 86,000 miles on occasion during warm up van will start running really bad , check engine light flashes , if I turn off ignition and restart its fine. When I pull codes its showing #3 &#5 cylinder misfire my first thought would be to replace #3&#5 coil but , if its a bad coil why would turning off ignition & restarting correct it ? Any help would be much appreciated ! Thanks

Old 05-15-2015, 05:59 AM

Hi and welcome.
Since no one has responded yet, maybe some info will help.
When the check engine light flashes it means there is a serious condition where the engine is misfiring and polluting.
Some additional info would be most helpful like when the spark plugs were last changed, if anyone has done any work recently in the engine compartment etc.
If extra fuel is managing to get into those cyls while parked it could cause a rich condition on startup. Sometimes a vacuum leak will cause similar problems. A little maintenance history may shed some light on the possible cause.

Old 05-15-2015, 07:10 AM
Default misfire

Thanks hanky!
I have had this van for 2 years put 20,000 miles on it & done nothing but oil changes ( every 2,000) miles . flushed coolant, tranny, & differential. Its my work van ( electrician) & it is heavily maintained. I also have 24 years experience in auto industry. Just not as full time line tech. Anyway, I never thought of plugs as I assumed they were irridium, and were good to 100,000 I will replace plugs that's easy enough . I will keep you posted. I always try to use OEM parts, but, do have recommendation on plugs ?