Ford Escape The newest smaller SUV from Ford allows the buyer to have the use of an SUV without the hunger for fuel that so many SUVs display.

broken outer door handle

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2008, 11:29 AM
Default broken outer door handle

Hi All,

I'm a newbie here and was unable to find help via search. My wife has an '01 XLT escape that we bought new and she (and I) really enjoy. Recently the passenger door stopped opening from the outside. I removed the door panel to find the metal rod that clips into part of the outer door mechanism is dangling inside the door. The hole that it used to clip into is half gone (plastic piece) so it is obvious that I need to replace that plastic piece. I removed the2 screws that I saw and while it moves around it seems to still be held by something. It has been cold out so I haven't spent too much time on it. I'm wondering if there is anyone here who has "been there done that"? If so, can you share with me how to get this apart?

Thank you,
Jeff

Old 02-24-2008, 11:52 AM
Super Moderator
Default RE: broken outer door handle

Welcome to the site..

Sent you an email..

Old 02-25-2008, 11:35 PM

hey anyway someon can you shoot me those instructions on how to fix this issue the same thing just happened to me this past weekend

Old 03-03-2008, 10:12 PM

I have the same problem on my wife's 2001 Escape. The passenger door froze shut a couple weekends ago and 'mysteriously' stopped working after that. I took off the inner panel this weekend and found the same broken metal arm that fits around a plastic bushing on a rod that moves the latch. The part that broke off is kind of like half of a really small washer. I found a site online that looked like it had the parts but the diagrams they had weren't detailed enough to tell which part was the right one. I'd appreciate any help.

Thanks!

Old 03-30-2008, 05:08 PM

Hi All,