Ford Explorer This long running SUV has stood tough against the barrage of new entries into the mid sized SUV market, and with a variety of engine sizes and trim lines, the Exploder offers something for everyone.

94 explorer won't start

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2007, 12:40 PM
mrp
Default 94 explorer won't start

Turns over but won't start. It's my son's car & last week after he got off work it wouldn't start, so not wanting to mess with it in the parking lot at 10p.m. I left it for the next morning. Next morning fired right up and ran fine untill yesterday,then same thing except it wont fire up this time. Reset buttons o.k. & I swapped the relay with another, still no luck. Filter, pump, elec. module? & how can check the part to see if it's faulty before replacing it? This is my first time at this site & my 1st post, so if that info. is out ther somewhere maybe I could be steered in the right direction. Thanks

Old 12-12-2007, 01:04 PM
mrp
Default RE: 94 explorer won't start

My mistake, it's a 96 not a 94, don't know if that makes any differance.

Old 12-12-2007, 01:19 PM
Super Moderator

Usually you can take a a part to an Autozone and they will test for free. I would take in the battery first, easy to come out and take it to them. They can test it. They should also be able to test the starter and alternator as well.

Old 12-13-2007, 12:05 AM
mrp

What's the deal with you FORD guys, I'm a DODGE man all the way, who made a mistake and bought his son a FORD, now it's FOUND ON THE ROAD DEAD and nobody has any helpfull advice. I mean DODGE guys are always trying to help the other guy out. How about some helpfull adviceso I get this thing running long enought to sell it, so I can replace it with a DODGE.

Old 12-13-2007, 12:31 AM
Super Moderator

Pretty harsh......

What engine?, miles on the clock?.. CEL on? Does it have any spark,checked? Hear fuel pump run/any pressure? What 'relay/s' did you swap?