Ford F-150 The entry level full size truck from Ford, one of America's best selling for decades.

1994 F-150 5.0 V8 - Losing Power, Rough Idle, Bucking, PLEASE HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2011, 01:26 PM
Default 1994 F-150 5.0 V8 - Losing Power, Rough Idle, Bucking, PLEASE HELP!

Hey everyone,

I'm a newbie to FordForum.....I have a 1994 F150 with about 190,000 miles on it. Its a 5.0 V8 4x4 and its been acting up lately. The truck will start and initially idle around 1000 rpms and be fine, once it warms up it drops way down to around 500 rpms and starts having a real rough idle. Once in gear it will run ok for a while then it will lose power, start to buck/lurch, I'll hear and feel popping from what seems to be under my feet, the CEL will come on, then it will clear itself and kick in like nothing is wrong. It will run ok for a bit then it starts all over again.

About two years ago I had to replace the Idle Airflow, Harmonic Balancer, Distributor & Wires. I'm going to pull codes this coming week and will post them on here to aid in the discussion, but wanted to start the tread to get some ideas about what needs to be done....I've read online that it could be the TPS, a bad O2, a clogged cat, or vacuum issues. The only other clue I have is that it failed an emissions test due to high hydrocarbons.

Thank you all for any and all help!!

Old 03-07-2011, 08:40 AM

Until you have the codes read, then it's a waste of time to guess what is wrong, and it is no surprise that is failed emmissions, since one of the sensors is inoperative and causing a rich condition.

My guess is that you'll find that it's the Engine Coolant Temperature sensor, but that's just a guess.

There also might be more than one bad sensor.

Not very likely that the TPS is bad. None of the symptoms suggest a bad TPS.

Likewise, cats seldom go bad, unless it's been running rich for a long time.

Get the codes read, and you'll likely have your culprit right away.

Old 03-07-2011, 01:11 PM