Ford F-150 The entry level full size truck from Ford, one of America's best selling for decades.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Inputs: Timing Chain

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2016, 10:17 PM
Angry Inputs: Timing Chain

2008 F150 5.4L
Parked my truck when i started it up, i heard a popped noise then i turned it off, so i crank it again and couldn't start. I got out my truck and check and saw a drip of oil and i open my hood and saw this.

I'm new to trucks, what am i facing here, any input could help
Thanks

Attached Thumbnails Inputs: Timing Chain-img_0969.jpg  
Old 10-15-2016, 07:26 AM

The only way to know what broke loose is to open it up and check it thoroughly.
You have some extensive work required , just how much will depend to a great extent on the mileage.

Old 10-15-2016, 10:26 AM
Super Moderator

Welcome to the site..

Certainly would need to be pulled apart to see the extent of the fail, more so, timing ( doesn't look good there) and debris that may have dropped into the pan. Suspended metals in an oil sample etc.
Front timing cover will need to be removed, evaluation done. If out if time, chances increase for valve issues. And like Hanky mentioned, if high mileage, possibly a used engine or a long block may be an option. If the mileage isn't high, and depending on the evaluation, timing components and head work. Might be worth re chaining it and running a comp test prior to digging deeper..

Depending on your ability, tools available, something you feel you want to take on? If so, we can provide you with the technical instructions.

Old 10-15-2016, 11:37 AM

1850k miles... does it worth the work or just get a new engine?

I have no technical background so i dropped it off at a shop

Last edited by iemmanuel; 10-15-2016 at 11:40 AM.
Old 10-15-2016, 12:24 PM
Super Moderator

Being either it would be a repair, or, the engine would come out, not much extra work to pull the front timing cover as part of the removal direction.