Ford F-150 The entry level full size truck from Ford, one of America's best selling for decades.

Vibration Issue 2004 F-150

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2010, 12:28 PM
Default Vibration Issue 2004 F-150

Hi Guys...I'm a newbie on this site and have a question for you.

I have a 2004 F-150 4x4 with 80K kilometers (50K miles) and I can't get rid of a vibration issue....this all started a few months ago when i heard a distinct rattling/clicking underneath the truck...then came some vibration. Took it into the Ford dealership and was told that the u-joint was toast and that the outer tie rods were shot...note that the front end was replaced unser warranty at 43K kilometers (ball joints, tie rods, upper and lower bearings on the steering shaft). I told Ford to replace the u-joint only which they did and then told me that the vibration was still there...I also had 4 new tires installed prior to the u-joint/vibration issue along with new brakes all around... I've waited 1 month and finally decided to get the tie rods replaced this morning, along with getting the tire balancing checked, rotated the tires, and had a steering alignment done...The mechanic is scratching his head now as to what is causing the vibration .....I am heading up to Northern Ontaio for a 5 day ice fishing adventure and I just don't know what to do anymore..........ANY SUGGESTIONS?????????

Thanks,
Steve

Old 02-23-2010, 02:20 PM

only 50k....mounts dont wear out this fast very often...

but...I have seen vibrations when motor/tranny mounts wear out..

Check the tranny mounts....sometimes when the rubber padding in a mount wears out you will have metal on metal and the vibrations will travel from the tranny/motor to the frame...and you will feel it...