Ford F-250 & Ford F-350 The heavier duty full sized trucks from Ford, offering bigger, more powerful engines and drivetrains for the abuse they may go through in the workplace.

2004 V10 F350 trailer plug

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2009, 12:48 PM
Default 2004 V10 F350 trailer plug

I have a 2004 F350 with the v10 and I'm not geting the left / right or stop lights to work throught the trailer plug I checked all the fuses and messed with the relays under the hood (not sure what I'm doing just looking) I do have tail light at the plug. Can't see anything wrong with the wire harness. anyone have any Ideas? (Go gentle this is my first time)

Old 03-15-2009, 02:00 PM
Super Moderator

Welcome to the site..

We're all about gentle here

First, if you have a 12v test light? make sure you have 'voltage' at both sides of fuse F2.6 20amp in the central junction box.. Not just checked for an open/blown fuse.. If you have 12v on both legs of the fuse, remove one of the trailer turn relays in Aux box 4 (small box closest to the inner fender drivers side) and check for voltages there.. Here's a quick diagram of the relay connector..

If the fuse is good, you should have 'battery voltage' on terminal #3 in the relay box (R&L relays) with the relay/s pulled.. And with R or L direction selected and depending on which relay you removed, you'll have 'flash' function on terminal #1.. You can 'bridge' the relay connections #3 and #5 and the trailer connector lights should be steady ON which will take the multifunction switch out of the diagnostic.. If the relay connection is bridged and you still have no lamp function, it's between the relay box and the trailer adapter, or possibly a bad ground at the rear connection.. The main trailering harness plugs into the back of the plastic 7 way connector and could possibly be there, but usually not for mutiple circuit problems....

Attached Thumbnails 2004 V10 F350 trailer plug-bb11.jpg  
Old 03-15-2009, 04:15 PM