Ford F-250 & Ford F-350 The heavier duty full sized trucks from Ford, offering bigger, more powerful engines and drivetrains for the abuse they may go through in the workplace.

7.3 broke down

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2016, 09:17 PM
Angry 7.3 broke down

My 95 7.3 quit running going down the road. No warning just shut off. Engine cranks fast but will not fire. Got it to start the next morning but just ran for a few seconds and then sounded like a limp mode and then shut off. Checked fuel filter, replaced crank sensor, and does not show a code. Puzzled.

Old 09-21-2016, 01:56 PM

My first question would be ar you sure it is not out of fuel?

Old 09-21-2016, 07:35 PM

Really??? Everyone should know I am a mechanic and have exhausted all easy fixes. Like tach sender replaced, fuel filter clean and full of fuel. Oil full and clean and has oil pressure when I can get it to fire for a few seconds.

Old 09-22-2016, 10:32 AM
Super Moderator

Fuel pressure and volume should always be checked to rule out delivery issues.
Early 7.3 had IDM problems usually due to water intrusion/ corrosion. Since it seems to start and run for a few seconds should/ would rule out fuel bowl heater shorts causing a dead PCM fuse.
HPOP could be cause, since the 7.3 is very picky on cranking speeds, fuel pressure, and a start up HPOP pressure.

Check engine light ON when it runs? How many miles on the truck? Any repair history? injector o rings replaced, HPOP? Was fairly common for a Low cranking oil pressure to cause hard/ no starts.