Ford F-250 & Ford F-350 The heavier duty full sized trucks from Ford, offering bigger, more powerful engines and drivetrains for the abuse they may go through in the workplace.

Snow Tires HELP!!!

Old 01-13-2013, 08:39 PM
Default Snow Tires HELP!!!

New to the forum and need some help with snow tires on my f350 heres my situation.
I have moved finally to Big Sky Country. I have had some experience driving on snow but this place here is tucked back in the mountain side off a dirt road.When the snow started flying and the roads got packed down my 37" Toyo's Open Country MT's suck.

Any advice on a good tire for these type condition.
question 1 PACKED Snow covered roads
question 2 what air pressure do I run.

Lifted On 8 Inch Pro Comp XX75
Fab-tech Dirt Logic 2.25 Dual Steering Stabilizer
Pro Comp Traction Bars
Toyo Open Country 37x13.5x22
MKW 22x11 Wheels
MBRP 4 Inch Exhaust
Superchip
Arp Head Bolts

THANKS

Attached Thumbnails Snow Tires HELP!!!-king-ranch.jpg  
Old 01-14-2013, 12:23 PM

generally accepted theory is to have the tread width/weight ratio of vehicle matched.
A narrow tread width will cut thru snow better instead of riding on top of snow.Ever wonder why a VW Beatle hardly ever got stuck in snow? More PSI onto the ground with a good aggresive tread is the best combo. PSI in tire should be mfg's recommondations.
Also drive sensible,correct gear for speed.

Old 01-14-2013, 12:54 PM

Why not check with the tire retailers in your area. They should know what works and what doesn't.

Old 01-15-2013, 06:57 AM

I am not trying to cut through 2 feet of snow just get good traction on 3 to 6 inches of packed stuff.

@ hanky before I go to any retailers here. I like getting a public opinion from a few good guys. so I don't get taking for a ride from some salesmen that just wants to sell tires.

Old 01-15-2013, 08:09 AM

Bill,