Ford Freestar The latest minivan entry for Ford provides all of the technology in family vehicles with a smooth styling.

Help With AC, AND squeaky Right Turns, Please?

Old 04-29-2013, 02:50 PM
Default Help With AC, AND squeaky Right Turns, Please?

2004 Ford Freestar SEL 4.2L.

The AC compressor clutch is not engaging. I am not a mechanic, so don't have all these tools you mechanics talk about so I would like help in 2 year old English please.

I understand that I can use a paper clip in the fuse to test if the clutch even turns at all(it's not jammed, I can turn it with my hand.) But, I don't know which fuse is the AC compressor fuse, and which slot to put the paper clip into. Photo or drawing of this fuse box with the paper clip in please? I'm sorry, but I really do not speak mechanic or electrician.

If after following detailed instructions given by someone who responds to this thread, and the clutch engages, what does that mean? That my AC just needs to be recharged? Is this something I can do myself, buying a can from the part store?

I've got to get the ac working because the passenger window doesn't roll down, and I don't have a bunch of money to put into either AC repair or fixing the window problem.

Also, I can hear a faint creaking in my steering wheel at all speeds, but it's loud when I turn left. Is this a ball joint problem? Can it just be lubed or am I looking at an expensive repair? I actually have access to syringes and needles. If I can get under there and get some grease into the boots, what kind of grease should I use?