Ford Ranger The small pickup that has withstood the test of time offering pickup truck usefulness combined with an affordable price.

1998 Ranger Heater Problem

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2007, 01:13 PM
Default 1998 Ranger Heater Problem

I am getting no heat in the interior of my 1998 4-cylinder Ranger. I am not sure what the problem, but I would like to fix it myself. Money's tight.Theengine temperature guage reads cold all of the time. I am no car expert, but I usually can fix thing with the proper instruction. Please help

Old 12-07-2007, 01:46 PM
Default RE: 1998 Ranger Heater Problem

Might check to see if your thrermostat is stuck open, easiest and cheapest route to go.

Old 12-10-2007, 09:33 AM

I took my truck in and they said the thermostat was fine. If I park it in my heated garage overnight. The heat works fine in the morning, but when I leave work at night, not much heat comes out. (I'm in Michigan) The repair shop said it might be the temp sensor. Does anyone know where its located??

Thanks.

Old 12-17-2007, 11:48 AM

I have heard rumor that some model year will have this type of problem when the water pump starts to fail. Basiclly it is not following enough coolant but the temp gauge does not register high temp due to its location. If memoery serves it is particularly the 3.0.

Old 12-17-2007, 01:48 PM