General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

03 Marquis sohc.... What can I do with it??

Search this Thread

Old 01-18-2015, 01:41 PM
Wink 03 Marquis sohc.... What can I do with it??

Hello All,
New to this forum... looking to a new place to fit in. I am an Electromechanical engineer and LOVE to tinker! Years ago I made the purchase to what has grown over the years to be my darling 2003 Mercury Grand Marquis. I love this car, will do anything for her and will NEVER get rid of her. I have 182k miles on her with no major troubles thus far ( I take good care of my Merc), but as she approaches 200k I am beginning to consider swapping heads to DOHC. Can I snag any PI or Tumbled heads off of any 03+ Mach 1/ Aviator etc...?? Will my existing Harness work with anything available? I've got tons of time invested in research on this and am still slightly unclear, hence why I am here to meet people who know what their talking about. Thx!

Old 01-23-2015, 05:55 PM

If you have the time and $$$$ you can do "almost" anything with regard to rengineering that engine. Just a reminder to keep in mind that when you put new/rebuilt heads on an engine with that mileage Pandora's box opens. Is there some particular reason you desire /need to do what you are considering?

Old 01-26-2015, 05:58 PM

Originally Posted by hanky
If you have the time and $$$$ you can do "almost" anything with regard to rengineering that engine. Just a reminder to keep in mind that when you put new/rebuilt heads on an engine with that mileage Pandora's box opens. Is there some particular reason you desire /need to do what you are considering?
@Hanky