General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

98 Explorer 4.0 P0171/P0174 troubleshooting help and a shocker!!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2010, 03:43 PM
Talking 98 Explorer 4.0 P0171/P0174 troubleshooting help and a shocker!!!

Ok...I was a automatic tranny mechanic for a number of years and drivetrain troubleshooting is my bag...but I never worked on fuel/ignition systems and need some help.

I read a lot of the posts related to my problem on this forum and it has been extremely helpful....but I need some additional help

I have a 98 explorer sport 4.0L EFI that has about 170K miles on it. It has been a good vehicle and now seems to be having issues. I parked it for about 2 weeks over xmas break and when I drove it afterward it began to miss and stumble under load and also idle rough. The CEL came on and when I drove home, the CEL began to flash.

The next day I took the vehicle over to my friends shop and he let me put his snap-on scanner on it and check for codes. There were a three codes stored. One was a cylinder 3 misfire code and P0171/P0174 both banks lean codes.

I did a brief check under the hood and didn't see any obvious hoses disconnected and decided to clear the codes and take it home to do a more thorough inspection. I cleared the codes and drove it home. It continued to run rough on the way home and there was no change. The CEL came back on but it did not flash this time.

I did some reading here and checked a few things.