General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Improving gas mileage

Old 03-15-2012, 07:07 PM
Smile Improving gas mileage

Just bought a 2012 F-150 FX2 w/ eco-boost. Will a chip help improve my MPG? Im new to this kind of stuff and would appreciate any insight given.

Old 03-16-2012, 05:36 PM

The fuel mileage is usually up to the driver. If you drive easy, the fuel economy is greater. Hard acceleration will lower mileage. What kind of mileage are you looking to achieve?

Old 03-18-2012, 02:54 AM

got ya...the reason i was asking is because people, who dont strike me as subject matter experts, tell me that this performance chip will improve my gas mileage my up to 8mpg. I have the eco-boost so i wasnt sure how much of an advantage i would actually gain. before i go spend the money i thought i would do my due diligence.

Old 03-18-2012, 10:02 AM

One thing to keep in mind is that is is a tottally new powertrain (the ecoboost). In it's truck version, It's still not quite even a year old.
Another thing; when you chip an engine, it usually gives power at one part of the range and takes it from another; or just ignores it altogether. When these engines are designed, the engineers have to keep emmissions, driveability, and power (notice the order in which I listed those, it's important) in a very narrow box for everything to work out, then make it last.
For example, if you could retune the turbo bypass valves in the turbos, I could give you fairly unlimited (or at least a great boost) in power. If you could tune the turbos to give 50 psi instead of 30, it would be great. For a while, until things started to break.
And the entire reason we are now in a hurry for turbos and the rest of it is due to fuel milage. You only really need the V-8 when accelerating, and once at cruise, the power requirements are much lower, so a 4 clyinder (in most cases) would do. Thus, forced induction is now reasonable.