Ford Enthusiast Unofficial Resource

Go Back   Ford Forum - Enthusiast Forums for Ford Owners > General Ford Forums > General Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search

Welcome to Ford Forum!
Welcome to Ford Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-23-2010, 10:42 AM

Default Vibration Issue on my 2004 F-150 4x4 UPDATE MAR 16

Hi Guys...I'm a newbie on this site and have a question for you.

I have a 2004 F-150 4x4 with 80K kilometers (50K miles) and I can't get rid of a vibration issue....this all started a few months ago when i heard a distinct rattling/clicking underneath the truck...then came some vibration. Took it into the Ford dealership and was told that the u-joint was toast and that the outer tie rods were shot...note that the front end was replaced unser warranty at 43K kilometers (ball joints, tie rods, upper and lower bearings on the steering shaft). I told Ford to replace the u-joint only which they did and then told me that the vibration was still there...I also had 4 new tires installed prior to the u-joint/vibration issue along with new brakes all around... I've waited 1 month and finally decided to get the tie rods replaced this morning, along with getting the tire balancing checked, rotated the tires, and had a steering alignment done...The mechanic is scratching his head now as to what is causing the vibration .....I am heading up to Northern Ontaio for a 5 day ice fishing adventure and I just don't know what to do anymore..........ANY SUGGESTIONS?????????

Thanks,
Steve