General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Vibration Issue on my 2004 F-150 4x4

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2010, 10:42 AM
Default Vibration Issue on my 2004 F-150 4x4 UPDATE MAR 16

Hi Guys...I'm a newbie on this site and have a question for you.

I have a 2004 F-150 4x4 with 80K kilometers (50K miles) and I can't get rid of a vibration issue....this all started a few months ago when i heard a distinct rattling/clicking underneath the truck...then came some vibration. Took it into the Ford dealership and was told that the u-joint was toast and that the outer tie rods were shot...note that the front end was replaced unser warranty at 43K kilometers (ball joints, tie rods, upper and lower bearings on the steering shaft). I told Ford to replace the u-joint only which they did and then told me that the vibration was still there...I also had 4 new tires installed prior to the u-joint/vibration issue along with new brakes all around... I've waited 1 month and finally decided to get the tie rods replaced this morning, along with getting the tire balancing checked, rotated the tires, and had a steering alignment done...The mechanic is scratching his head now as to what is causing the vibration .....I am heading up to Northern Ontaio for a 5 day ice fishing adventure and I just don't know what to do anymore..........ANY SUGGESTIONS?????????

Thanks,
Steve

Last edited by MuskieHunter; 03-19-2010 at 01:01 PM. Reason: UPDATE
Old 02-23-2010, 11:28 AM

their trouble shooting seems to be just start changing parts!! go to the service manager and demand a refund for labor!!! the parts you are going to have to eat but labor is another issue!! they SHOULD be factory certified and know what is the problem on that new of a truck!!! then get a second authorized dealership to continue to investigate the issue!!!

Old 03-19-2010, 12:59 PM
Default Update