Ford Forum - Enthusiast Forums for Ford Owners

Ford Forum - Enthusiast Forums for Ford Owners (https://www.fordforum.com/forum/)
-   Ford Econoline E Series (https://www.fordforum.com/forum/ford-econoline-e-series-18/)
-   -   E-150 replacement A/C evaporator (https://www.fordforum.com/forum/ford-econoline-e-series-18/e-150-replacement-c-evaporator-37747/)

oxford 04-11-2018 09:09 AM

E-150 replacement A/C evaporator

Hello, I am a new member from the UK. I have a 1987 Econoline E-150 which has a problem with its air conditioning system. I am a complete novice with this sort of thing so any advice would be gratefully received.

I was investigating leaking coolant and found the evaporator pipe work to be split. As I am not familiar with these items, I wonder whether the evaporator not only handles the air conditioning, from the compressor mounted on the engine, but also deals with heating via the engine coolant as well.I have tried to research this item on the internet and the nearest replacement I have found is a 4 Seasons/Everco 44071. However, this item seems to be about half the width of the existing one and has a mounting flange on either end. I am also uncertain about the pipe work configuration. The problem is that the existing evaporator shares a black plastic housing with a motor which has a fan either side of it. The existing evaporator is a tube and fin type and the dimensions, without the external pipe works on the ends, are approximately 5” by 5” by 15”. I cannot find a manufacturer's name or a part number. I suspect this combination unit may not be OEM as I bought the vehicle second hand.

The obvious thing for me to do is seek advice in the UK but such vehicles are scarce. Therefore, I hope owners in the USA will be kind enough to share their knowledge and opinions.

Thank you.

Use Common Sense 04-12-2018 06:40 AM