Ford Expedition The Expedition provides the feel of a full size truck with the seating of a large SUV.

Missfire on cyl 4 - now on 3 & 7, no power

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2018, 02:09 PM
Default Missfire on cyl 4 - now on 3 & 7, no power

Hello guys, newbie here, and I hope someone is able to help with my engine problem.

97' Expi 4x4, 4.6L with the 2 ignition coils at the front of the engine

It all started with the check engine light and the engine not running smoothly, no power. Diagnosis was misfire on cylinder 4, I then purchased a new ignition coil for the left cylinder bank.

I then took it in and they checked all the cables, cleaned the fuel delivery system, carburetor, all injectors, cleaned and flushed the tank and fuel lines, replaced fuel pump strainer and installed a new fuel filter.

After this was all done, suddenly there is a misfire on cylinders 3 and 7 (!), so on both banks and there is even less power. It is a really choppy ride to say the least. Cables look all good and tightly attached.

Any help is really appreciated and I thank you guys in advance!

Old 08-17-2018, 04:38 AM

I realize this can be an expensive route to go, but you should have to do this only once.
Since we don't know the full past history of the vehicle, I would suggest that you use Motorcraft parts . You do not need to purchase them from Ford.
Go the route and do it once.
Replace the coils, plugs and wires with Motorcraft parts. It is not the cheapest route to go , but you will do it once and be done.
If we keep hopping around and using lower priced parts we get what we pay for, most of the time.

Old 08-17-2018, 06:03 AM

Thanks for your reply, hanky. One coil is replaced already, with a quality part from Germany that cost only slightly less than the Motorcraft alternative. Will purchase some spark plugs now. Apart from that, do you think there could be another problem somewhere, just by the sound of it?

Old 08-17-2018, 08:05 AM