Ford Freestar The latest minivan entry for Ford provides all of the technology in family vehicles with a smooth styling.

Half shaft replacement walk through (A step by step guide)

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2017, 05:39 AM
Default Half shaft replacement walk through (A step by step guide)

Disclaimer: I am not a mechanic, so do this job at your own risk. If you do not feel comfortable with this, and feel it's outside of your abilities, take your vehicle to a mechanic.

Tools needed:
  1. Jack
  2. Jack stand
  3. Kroil (or similar penetrating oil)
  4. Anti Sieze
  5. Breaker Bar
  6. 1/2" and or 3/8" drive ratchet
  7. 19MM Socket (or 3/4" socket)
  8. T50 Torx
  9. 30MM
  10. 12MM Socket
  11. 18MM Socket
  12. 13/16" Socket
  13. Pickle Fork (Ball Joint Removal Tool)
  14. Impact wrench (if necessary)
  15. Torch
  16. Cut Off Tool
  17. 4lb Hammer (or similar)
  18. Zip Tie
  19. Grease Gun

Step 1:
Be sure to be on solid level ground.

Step 2:
Use your breaker bar (or four way) with a 3/4 socket to loosen your lug nuts (do not remove them fully, just yet).

Step 3:
Place jack under vehicle and raise it up to a comfortable level. Place jack stand underneath.

Step 4:
Continue to loosen and remove lug nuts, and wheel.

Step 5:
Soak all your bolts and nuts with penetrating oil.

Step 6:
Take your ratchet and 12MM socket to remove the caliper bolts from the caliper to the bracket. Once removed zip tie the caliper out of the way.

Step 7:
Take your 18MM socket and remove the caliper bracket, set aside for later.

Step 8:
Take your T50 and remove the torx bolts holding the rotor to the hub assembly. Set rotor aside.

Step 9:
Use 3/4 socket and pop off the outer tie rod from the knuckle assembly. *bonus* Jam nut is also 3/4, if your tie rod is bad, go ahead and replace now.

Step 10:
Use a 3/4 socket to remove sway bar link or a cut off tool, replace if necessary.

Step 11: