Ford Forum - Enthusiast Forums for Ford Owners

Ford Forum - Enthusiast Forums for Ford Owners (https://www.fordforum.com/forum/)
-   Ford Mustang (https://www.fordforum.com/forum/ford-mustang-68/)
-   -   Troubleshooting P0316 code (https://www.fordforum.com/forum/ford-mustang-68/troubleshooting-p0316-code-36423/)

RyanCooper 07-28-2017 04:16 PM

Troubleshooting P0316 code

Hello, im new to this thread section. I have recently acquired a 2002 Mustang GT Convertible 5-spd. When me and my brother were out driving it, it started misfiring (made the same sound as the 03' Expedition 5.4 my mom had a few years ago). we were able to limp it home ok but the code says "Misfire detected on startup (First 1000 RPM's)" so what exaclty am i supposed to be looking for and what should i fix first?

I read it could be anything from a bad coil(s), bad CKP sensor, bad gas, bad injector, and im kind of short on money so spending money on the wrong part is something to be careful for. (car has 134k miles and needs a TPS as well for sure)

hanky 07-28-2017 05:54 PM

If you are sure the TPS is defective, replace it . It could affect system voltage to other components.

would suggest the following;
Clear the code, and see if you can create it again.
I vaguely remember a similar situation like this and the cause was way out in left field.
If you can get it to happen easily ,when it is corrected you will be sure it is corrected when checking after the fix.
I believe it involved a series of checks the computer did before the engine was even started.

RyanCooper 07-30-2017 04:51 PM

yeah it'd make sense if it was just the TPS as i know it was getting bad as the idle was fluctuating some and the RPMs dropped slowly when putting in the clutch. The misfire started after the clutch was let out (going from a stop) and both the idle (TPS) and the misfire got worse at the same time during the trip home.