Ford Ranger The small pickup that has withstood the test of time offering pickup truck usefulness combined with an affordable price.

1994 ranger odd charging issue

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2018, 08:24 AM
Angry 1994 ranger odd charging issue

Alrighty. So my dad bought this 94 ranger a month or so ago from a guy, its had some work done. im a diesel tech, but I know how to work on pretty much whatever so i look it over and the trucks in great running condition, the interior is a little rough/dirty but whatever.. Well, the other day, I replace 2 bulbs in the dash, they were the correct size and all. i get the dash back together and all the sudden i have a battery light on in the dash, and my voltmeter is reading a little lower. Now, JUST previous to that, i drove it like 15 miles with no problem. i had been driving it all week, with no problem. so i test my batter while the truck was running, im getting 12 volts. i say ok, maybe the alt is just putting out a little bit low, no biggie. ill run it, whatever. two days later, im working on my car and i need the truck to make a run to the parts department where i work. its running worse, i test it, charging at like 9.9 volts or so. so i park it and start running some diag on it. i charge the battery and make sure it can hold a charge, i pull the alternator and have it bench tested, alt tests bad, bearing going bad, pulley seizing. ok, no problem. i put the new alt on, put the battery back in, verify my connections and check fuses to make sure nothing is blown. well i start the truck, battery light still on. i go through some more tests i find my signal wire from the alt to my first connector right before the firewall has reads OL on my DMM. i run a new wire using the same gauge wire and deutsch pins necessary. i restart the truck, and lookie there i have 14.3 volts. im happy. so i let the truck run for a bit to check everything, then out of no where my charging voltage drops to 12.3. and stays there. next day, i rete