Ford Explorer This long running SUV has stood tough against the barrage of new entries into the mid sized SUV market, and with a variety of engine sizes and trim lines, the Exploder offers something for everyone.

Rough idle, steering groan - Please help out a college student!

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2007, 01:02 AM
Default Rough idle, steering groan - Please help out a college student!

Hi, this is my first post and I would appreciate any help if it means I can save money. I'm a working college student who inherited a '98 Explorer (4.0L SOHC and 95k miles)from my family. Two big problems came up within 6 months of me owning the car.

1) ROUGH IDLE AT START - After 10 seconds or so, the engine revs up the RPM to 2,000 and falls.It stalls sometimes unless I keep my foot on the gas or drive it right away to warm it up. This happens in the morning or when I don't drive my car for awhile, but not during the day when the engine has already warmed up. It's not the mass air flow sensor, I believe,because I used a remanufactured one from Autozone but returned it when I still got the rough idle. I sprayed CRC mass air flow sensor cleaner on the old one and put it back on.

I researched and found that many Explorer owners had the "oom12" problem -plastic intake manifold, bad gaskets, worn-out O-rings, tensioner. Which of these need replacing and how do I know if the intake manifold is cracked? Can I replace just the gaskets and O-rings and continue driving with the original manifold? The Ford service repair place wants to charge $800-1000 to replace the entire manifold and I can't make that in a month while at school! Should I go to an independent repair shop? How much will it charge?