Ford F-150 The entry level full size truck from Ford, one of America's best selling for decades.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

acceleration problem

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2016, 03:18 PM
Default acceleration problem

So...I bought an old beater a few years back. It has been mechanically sound up until recently. It's a 1995 4.9 6 cyl manual transmission
I had the fuel pump replaced maybe 6 months ago.
I managed to inhale a plug about a year ago so I had those, the wires and distributor cap replaced.
About a month ago I began to notice a loss of power going uphill while at highway speeds and acceleration from a dead stop or just trying to accelerate in general. It has only gotten worse in the last week.
I press on the gas and I hear the engine rev but it takes a second for the rev to 'wind down' and then catch back up with the initial rev. I hope that makes sense because I'm not a mechanic--I swing a hammer for a living.
Well, I had a lot of errands to run today so I took the day off and decided I'd swing in and get my check engine light checked out. Full disclosure--I just moved to a emissions state and I passed with flying colors. I did not have a light on. Nor do I currently have a light on. Because no light comes on when I turn the key I assume the bulb is bad. The light used to come on intermittently while driving but this is my beater so I never cared. Well, I bought a code reader and I got code #327. Of course I have been searching code #327 (I believe continuous memory) and I have found lots of information. That said, none of it seems to pertain to loss of acceleration, it mainly has to do with economy.
Therefore my lengthy, and first, post poses this question: would an egr sensor cause a loss of acceleration the way I described above or does it sound like something else? I really appreciate any and all help. Have a good day!

Old 03-29-2016, 07:44 PM