Ford Econoline E Series The full size van is alive and well at FMC, with the heart of the F series trucks in both cargo vans and passenger vans.

Help with maintenance schedule over 150,000

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2018, 04:03 AM
Default Help with maintenance schedule over 150,000

Hi everyone, I'm my cousin's new "maintenance guy" for his sole company vehicle now, and I'm looking for help creating some sort of periodic maintenance schedule for his 2007 E-250 with the 5.4L motor.

I'm not a professional tech by any stretch of the imagination, but I know enough maintenance and repair stuff to get me by on my own for the most part, and just so you know, I'm new to the whole Ford thing, never having owned or worked on one.

I can start with some details. This is my cousin's company van, he uses it for his gardening business. it is never overloaded and he does not pull a trailer with it. A couple months ago was the first time I have worked on it. At that time, I replaced all four ball joints and the drag link and tie rod. Prior to that, he had replaced the front brake pads and the driver's side caliper, apparently it had seized. A couple days ago, he asked me to come down and look because one of the brakes was squealing intermittently. I inspected them, and found nothing to be alarmed about. There was normal wear and tear on the rear rotors and pads which were probably still at about 60%. I pulled them apart to check for perhaps a rock lodged in somewhere, but found nothing. After that, I opened the rear diff cover (Dana 60) to drain the fluid and inspect for any excessive wear or damage after he told me he has never checked it, and thought it was making some noise. Except for the fluid being black sludge, everything seemed okay. In two weeks, I will be replacing the rear brakes, since the noise has not gone away, and hopefully that solves it.