Ford F-250 & Ford F-350 The heavier duty full sized trucks from Ford, offering bigger, more powerful engines and drivetrains for the abuse they may go through in the workplace.

'06 Ford F-250 6.0L air conditioning and 4WD issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2017, 12:57 PM
Exclamation '06 Ford F-250 6.0L air conditioning and 4WD issues

Ok, so this is my first time posting here, namely because I have no clue what's going on. I'm fairly mechanically inclined, and I have had my truck for about two months now. My problem is pretty simple, yet endlessly annoying and entertaining, for you see every time I switch into four wheel drive, my air conditioner diverts air to the defroster. Now I normally wouldn't care about this and write it off as a quirk of the vehicle, but I live in the unpleasant part of Wyoming, where it is 80 degrees, and I have to climb fairly substantial hills, and my truck won't climb unless it is in four wheel drive..... so it gets hot and unpleasant. What do I do to fix this?

Old 07-16-2017, 02:10 PM

Correction, the 4wd system will not come on, I have to manually lock in the front difs

Old 07-16-2017, 02:15 PM

You have a vacuum leak.

First thing to check is the small diameter (hard plastic) gray vacuum line to the heater hose valve. See if it has been disconnected.

Attached Thumbnails '06 Ford F-250 6.0L air conditioning and 4WD issues-gray-vacuum-line-heater-control-valve.jpg  

Last edited by bismic; 07-16-2017 at 02:19 PM.
Old 07-16-2017, 02:17 PM

Originally Posted by bismic
You have a vacuum leak.

First thing to check is the small diameter (hard plastic) gray vacuum line to the heater hose valve. See if it has been disconnected.
Alright, thanks

Old 07-16-2017, 02:21 PM

Edited the previous post to include a pic.

If it isn't this, post back up and we can go through the other possibilities (vacuum pump issue, leak at a 4WD hub, leaking solenoid valve, etc).

Old 07-16-2017, 02:35 PM

Originally Posted by bismic