Ford F-250 & Ford F-350 The heavier duty full sized trucks from Ford, offering bigger, more powerful engines and drivetrains for the abuse they may go through in the workplace.

F250 questions..general

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2007, 11:19 AM
Default F250 questions..general

Howdy. I am new to Ford trucks, and just bought a 1989 F250 from a friend for a work truck/daily driver. I know that my gas mileage will be horrible, etc etc. What I don't know is anything about the truck. It has a 351 V-8, 4wd, auto, and the biggest rear end punpkin I've ever seen. I am a Jeep guy, so I can identify all of their components by sight. I just don't know anything about Fords. Looking for a GOOD VIN decoder, not just something that tells me place of manufacture,etc. I need to know specs on the vehicle, and also where to find a Ford service manual. Jeeps have lots of aftermarket info avail, just don't know where to go for Fords...all the sites are dominated by 04 Super Duty talk......Thanks for all your help, oh, and it's really true!! You CAN pull down a house with one of these things!!! We pulled down a medium-sized barn about a week ago with my pal's 94 F250......wow....

Old 02-10-2007, 12:28 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: F250 questions..general

Welcome to the site....

The data tag in the door jamb should give you GVW, Axle Weights, Codes ect.. I might be able to help if your more specific on the info needed for VIN ect.. As far as a good service/shop manual, I sold a 'bunch' of our old shop manuals on ebay and if your patient, and can beat some of the manual dealers/resellers to the punch, you can usually pick up OEM Manual/s for your MY application at a decent deal.. Or I've seen them at some of the car showsbooths for older manual sales. An OEM Shop manual is the way to go if you want complete, application/model specific info for repair and service..