Ford Five Hundred The new mid-sized luxury sedan, offering a powerful engine and all wheel drive.

Ford five hundred "thud" noise

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2013, 10:53 PM
Default Ford five hundred "thud" noise

Hey guys, im new to the whole forum thing but i really needed some assistance with this problem. I recently just got my shocks changed for the very first time on my 2007 Ford Five Hundred. I also got the rotors tuned and the brake pads changed. I got Monroe shocks installed. So, i got everything (rotors, brakes, & shocks) done on 4/16/13 and on the same day, as i drive off, i notice a "thud" noise whenever i apply the brakes. Or even when i might drive over a bump or the little rail on the ground for a garage gate. It's a pretty loud thud and i can even feel it. I was wondering, if my mechanic did a bad job on installing the shocks or could it be something else?
please help me

$$$$ costed a lot for me to get this work done and i just don't want the mechanic to get paid for a bad job.

Old 04-09-2013, 09:35 AM

The non descriptive word 'thud' is not a lot to go on..."Hold it closer to the phone so I can look at it." is the smart a** answer but let's continue.

You did not say if the noise is in the front or the back. You did indicate that you could feel the 'thud' so I assume 'front'? Just to cancel out the thud being in the back, put a buddy in the trunk and drive around a bit. He's to listen for and feel for the thud.

A thud. Shocks, by that I assume you are speaking of spring coils over shocks, aka struts that have shocks installed.

As seen it's an easy job and when done right...it works.