Ford Focus This compact luxury sedan and hatchback has become popuar among sport compact tuners due to its small size, and available performance parts, as well as the availability of the SVT model

synthetic vs. "regular" oil...potential prob?

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2005, 10:42 AM
Default synthetic vs. "regular" oil...potential prob?

ok, i have a 2002 SVT focus. i took my car in for it's routine oil change. this time i went to jiffy lube, and they asked me if i wanted synthtic or regular. they told me that synthetic is better, so i figured they were trying to sell me. i could not remember what the manual for the car called for. so i told them to put regular in it. ever since i got my car back from them, i have had problems with the car in first and second gear. the problem being is that it acts as if i am just learning how to drive stick (I'm not), it acts like......"rrrrrRRRRR, rrrrrrRRRRR, rrrrrRRRRR" as i go no matter how carefully i change gears until i get into 3rd. how coincidental that i just got my oil changed and it started happening. the car drives different too. just different.

is it bad to put regular into a car that calls for synthetic?????

HELP!! i am so confused!!!![&o][:-][X(]

Old 07-26-2005, 01:23 PM
Default RE: synthetic vs. "regular" oil...potential prob?