Ford Ranger The small pickup that has withstood the test of time offering pickup truck usefulness combined with an affordable price.

Trouble Keeping Running - FIXED

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2006, 05:26 PM
Default Trouble Keeping Running - FIXED

Okay, I'm a noob and looking at buying a 91 Ranger with 185K miles. I need a little help.

The only issue is that the truck has trouble keeping running. Starts fine. Will run for a few minutes then start to shudder like it is not getting enough gas. The owner says that the plugs, starter, fuel pump and fuel filter have been repalced trying to solve the problem.

He's disgusted and says that he wants to get rid of it because he's heard that a problem with these trucks is that it may have jumped timing. I'm not buying that for the symptoms he's describing.

What else could the problem be? He changed everything that was my initial throughts. What's this "inertial circuit" that I've been reading about? Could that be it? Fuel pump voltage maybe?

Any help is appreciated.

Scott

Old 11-20-2006, 09:32 PM
Super Moderator
Default RE: Trouble Keeping Running

What engine? 2.3, 3.0.....and any CEL?

First things to check would be of course timing, IAC (Idle Air Control) motor, fuel pressure/volume, and EGR.. These will greatly affect a stable idle and running condition/s.. Especially on a high mileage truck.. Being that it starts fine/fast idles fine cold, leads me to believe it's not timing, but should be checked to be sure.. IAC are know to stick, or gum up causing a slow/irratic idle as would a bad TPS or hung open/leaking EGR.. Throttle plate can build up debris causing slow stumbling idle as well, and easily checked/cleaned.. Could be a vauum leak as well.. Thing to do would be to start eliminating the possibilities....

Old 11-21-2006, 12:09 AM

Your suggestions make sense. I'll give the truck a once over tomorrow. thanks

Old 11-21-2006, 12:13 AM