Ford Taurus The long running mid sized sedan offering sure footed front wheel drive and a roomy interior.

Help, intermittent fuel pump

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2010, 05:00 PM
Default Help, intermittent fuel pump

Hello all, have a 96 taurus vulcan, fuel pump has gone intermittent. It barely runs. When it actually does run it works perfectly fine and the car never dies.

Right now it has been out of commission for a week. I'm new to this stuff because this is my first car, I'm 17. I picked up a test light to try to figure out where the break in the system is.

On the forum I found this:

The fuel pump relay is internal to the constant control relay module (CCRM).. There's a 20amp fuse in position #10 in the engine compartment box for the pump.. Couple checks you can make if you have a 12v test light,,

1. First check the fuse in the panel for voltage (both sides), if OK, then check for 12v (hot at all times) on the 'Orange' wire going into the CCRM connector.. That is the power IN to the fuel pump relay (switched side) in the CCRM and from the fuse box..

2. Have someone cycle the key to 'ON' with a test light on/probing the LB/O wire, and again cycle the key and check for voltage on the DG/Y wire.. The LB/O wire is voltage IN to the relay's magnetic coil for PCM control (will be timed if a no start) of the fuel relays contacts, and the DG/Y wire is voltage OUT of the relay and into the inertia (if the relay closes) if a voltage IN to the relay is present from the PCM, and a good ground..

3. If you cycle the key ON and you have voltage on all 3 wires (again, the LB/O and DG/Y will be timed ON) then the relay is working.. Then go to the inertia switch and check 'both' wires IN/OUT of the switch.. Be sure the fuse is good, and if so, that there is voltage on the orange wire to the CCRM.. The chassis ground is out by the battery/inner fender..