Ford Econoline E Series The full size van is alive and well at FMC, with the heart of the F series trucks in both cargo vans and passenger vans.

cooling system problem

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2007, 05:17 PM
Default cooling system problem

Hey... I am a newbie to this forum, but I recently purchased a 1988 E150 with a 351 in it and the van has a over hearting problem. If I start up the van it will run great and not over heat. When I go to drive it I get a few miles down the road and it starts to over heat. One day I was looking at the van and when you give it gas the bottom radiator hose will start to close and the more gas you give it the more it will close. Any clues? Thanks.

Old 04-01-2007, 09:37 PM
Default RE: cooling system problem

Coolantintake circuit is blocked solid. Could be bad pump, blockage in lower hose, blockage in engine block orblockage in radiator.

Old 04-02-2007, 01:43 AM

I already replaced the water pump, I also dont have a thremostat in but I dont think that would casue the problem. How could I tell if the system is blocked? If I go to flush the system will it not run all the way through? Thanks for the help.

Old 04-02-2007, 02:08 AM

No thermostat COULD increase pump suction on the intake side. Or maybe simply - someone bought a hose that didn't have a spring coiled in it where the original had a spring coiled in it. The spring prevents hose collapse. I wonder if you could have extra suction though by a broken head gasket, etc. to the engine intake system (bad gasket or cracked intake). I'd start by draining it and looking at the hose. I'd add a 140 degree thermostat for longer engine life. Flushing the coolant system could also help. Look for white smoke out the tailpipe on a warm day (firing coolant). Hope this wraps it up for ya'.

Old 04-02-2007, 04:11 AM