Ford F-250 & Ford F-350 The heavier duty full sized trucks from Ford, offering bigger, more powerful engines and drivetrains for the abuse they may go through in the workplace.

88 F250 4.9 in-line6 NO-START

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2018, 05:33 PM
Default 88 F250 4.9 in-line6 NO-START

I’m new to the Forum and any help would be much appreciated.

This Truck is making me lose my mind, I’m not a mechanic and not very wealthy, therefore troubleshooting and diagnosing the issues with this truck has been difficult for me. Push Start was installed by previous owner which suggest prior ignition problems, Since this Year 88 is OBD1, I used a jumper wire at the EEC relay/test plug (near driver side firewall) I located both plugs but there’s no relay, must this be relayed???

New/Newer Parts - Starter, Starter solenoid, Battery, Terminals, Negative Ground cable (Battery to Ground), IAC, TPS, ICM, Ignition Coil Pig/component, Transmission(irrelevant)
Truck Cranks but No-Start

Old 03-30-2018, 02:15 PM

On the older engines we usually needed fuel, air, spark and correct timing and the engine usually started. If the intake is clear and filter is reasonably clean the air consideration is met. Spark can be confirmed by removing one of the spark plug wires from the plug, inserting a small screwdriver into the wire terminal end , placing the screwdriver shaft approx 1/4-3/8 in away from any metal part of the engine and cranking the engine over . You should see a spark going from the screwdriver shaft to the engine ground (metal). If you were to remove one of the spark plugs after trying to start the engine ,it should be pretty dry, if wet it is overfueled, flooded. Holdong the throttle pedal to the floor when cranking will prevent addl fuel from getting into the cyls and result in what is referred to as clear flood condition.
If all the plugs are dry it could be due to no fuel being put into the cyls.