Adding Message Center to Freestar - Ford Forum - Enthusiast Forums for Ford Owners

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-17-2015, 12:40 AM
Junior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 25
Default Adding Message Center to Freestar

Hi all, I have a 2004 Freestar ( 3.9) and I was wondering if I can add the message center (in the center of the instrument cluster above the odometer?. Our dash has a plastic cover where the reset button is on the Freestar's that have the full message center program. Many years ago my father bought a car without any bells or whistles. Over the years he would pop off a tab or cover plate and add a switch or button and get what ever extra thing that others haid paid Extra for. In those days all the wiring was run but not hooked up unless you paid for that particular bell/wwhistle. Now days with all the computers I don't know if that is true. Does anyone know if the wiring is there, and I would just have to the switch? Is the computer already have the full message center loaded? Also, is there a consensus as to why the odometer is not bright enough to see during the day? I can only see the odometer at night. Can anything be done to fix it?
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 06:10 PM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 21

Can anyone tell me how to remove the message center switch?
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2017, 06:44 AM
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 21

The message center switch, three buttons, is located a little lower and in between the radio and the instrument cluster. The following link will take you to it. (By the way does anyone have a good used message center switch to sell?)
Reply With Quote

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Message Center is possessed. alexanjb Ford Escape 1 01-04-2007 12:17 AM
Message Center Problem donmiller1 Ford Freestar 3 01-03-2007 08:16 PM
Reset Message Center donmiller1 General Tech 1 12-26-2006 08:24 PM
Message Center Huhhhhh Ford F-250 & Ford F-350 0 09-28-2006 06:08 PM
how do i get into the message center/ odometer diagnostic mode? ATTAK General Tech 1 05-25-2006 09:48 PM

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to and affiliated sites.