New Member Area New to Ford Forum? Stop in tell us about you.

1996 Ford Explorer electrical problem

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2017, 08:30 PM
Default 1996 Ford Explorer electrical problem

I'm a novice mechanic. I have a 1996 Ford Explorer with about 176,000 miles. The back lights to the dashboard don't work nor does the second cigarette lighter (upper port). I pulled the dash and replaced all the bulbs and checked all the fuses. I replaced one that was blown. Lights still don't work. Can someone help me? Thanks.

Old 06-13-2017, 09:52 AM
Super Moderator
Thumbs up

Welcome to the site..

Make sure the dash/cluster Dimmer Control Module is working and hasn't been rolled to Off position,

If all the fuses have been double checked and to prove out the relays,,
As a test point,,, At the 'back' of the Dimmer Control Module connector, check for 12v 'IN' to the module from interior Fuse panel.. Back probing the connector, there shoukd be 12v on the Tan/orange wire (input) and 12v (output) to the panel illuminations on the Red/black wire. Yes/No?

The Power Point fuse is in the Power Distribution Box. Fuse #20-30 Amp.

Old 06-21-2017, 07:03 PM

Originally Posted by Hayapower
Welcome to the site..

Make sure the dash/cluster Dimmer Control Module is working and hasn't been rolled to Off position,

If all the fuses have been double checked and to prove out the relays,,
As a test point,,, At the 'back' of the Dimmer Control Module connector, check for 12v 'IN' to the module from interior Fuse panel.. Back probing the connector, there shoukd be 12v on the Tan/orange wire (input) and 12v (output) to the panel illuminations on the Red/black wire. Yes/No?

The Power Point fuse is in the Power Distribution Box. Fuse #20-30 Amp.