Ranchero Body Lift

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2007, 06:53 PM
Default Ranchero Body Lift

I have a 1978 GT Ranchero. I'm having a blast with my new "old" truck/car (which one is it?). Actually, I'm using it more as a truck than a car, and that's getting me in a little trouble. I have been hunting out of it, and I need a little more clearance. I'm considering larger wheels/tires and lifting it a few inches. Here's the problem. I'm not a mechanic and I'm cheap! Actually, I'm not so much cheap as I'm broke most of the time. So, I'm not looking to just drive it to my local mechanic and turn my back while he tinkers and sends me a bill. I want to be able to research the parts, know what I'm ordering, and take it one step at a time with a little professional help as I go along. Also, I want to have fun learning about what I have. So my first project is to get thisride to make it through a few mud holes and clear some spaces where these other guys in their F250 4X4s have rutted it out. I'd love any perspective others have about how to do this without breaking the bank. I don't need a 4X4, I don't need things to shine real bright, and I don't need to make it through the Mississippi River (although I'm right on it). I just need to make it more functional for what I'm doing. Anybody have experience with what kind of parts/labor are necessary for lifting the body on this type of vehicle?

Old 03-09-2007, 08:09 PM
Default RE: Ranchero Body Lift