Fairlane/Falcon/Galaxie/Gran Torino There 1960s classics have not been forgetten, whether it is on the dragstrip or at any car show, they are still all well represented.

Rookie move, wait I am a total rookie!

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2021, 10:25 AM
Gil
Default Rookie move, wait I am a total rookie!

When I first started deconstruction on my 63 Fairlane 500 I thought I would have it put back together in a few months. Well, well, well, that is not the case. I'm finally going to be ready for paint by month end and I've been getting all my parts together. The only problem I think I'm going to have it getting the door glass back in, I did not take pictures, I did not mark the hardware I put in baggies. I'm sure I know what goes in, just not how the inside hardware is installed. I haven't tried yet I'm just thinking ahead. I've seen youtube videos on galaxies and mustangs and it's pretty much the same, they don't show the inside of the door and that's what I need. Long story short, anyone know if any video/pictures/diagram that shows how the inside looks? Thanks for any help.

Old 09-15-2021, 01:18 PM

If you managed to take it apart, you will probably be able to put it together.

These are manual controlled , I believe.
Usually the scissor assy has a gear that indexes with the window crank handle,
There is usually 2 posts on one end of the scissor assy that go into the bottom of the window glass slide. The posts are usually held in place with a type of horseshoe retainer.
The difficult part is , some were held in place with rivets. If you work the scissor assy a few times it will all come back to you. You may need to get hold of a pop rivet gun and install tool along with the correct size pop rivets. Do you remember if you had to drill out 2 or 3 rivets per scissor assy?
As a last resort , an auto glass repair shop may be able to help you get the parts lined up so you can do the install.