Ford Econoline E Series The full size van is alive and well at FMC, with the heart of the F series trucks in both cargo vans and passenger vans.

1990 E-250 Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2011, 08:44 PM
Default 1990 E-250 Questions

Hi all...total van noob here.

I'm thinking about picking up a '90 E-250 Coachmen Camper. Engine seems strong and not too much is wrong with the "amenities" (plumbing can use some work, but fortunately I know plumbers).

Anyway...it's steering seemed a little unnerving, so I decided to have it checked out by an alignment place. They said the sway bar bushings were worn. I've already replaced sway bar bushings in a Jeep Grand Cherokee....is there anything more difficult with an E-250's bushings? I would probably change the shocks as well. Any recommendations there? Probably don't want to spend Bilstein $$, but also don't want to white knuckle in wind gusts.

The one point of concern by the alignment guy was the dual fuel tank transfer valve leaking (which would explain the gas smell inside). Where would I grab a replacement (closest pick-n-pull is 90mi away, so I'm hoping interweb or Napa) and how's the install? Doable in a few hours for a so-so back-yard mechanic?

If bushings, shocks, and transfer valve are easy fixes, I may drop the $2k and become a "van guy."

Thanks in advance!

Old 04-30-2011, 04:51 AM

I believe the truck has a double I beam suspension system and what he may be calling the sway bar is the left and right strut arm rubber bushings. They can be tough to replace because you can't get the inner bushings off and install the new ones without removing the large bolt that holds the coil spring to the I beam. Also sometimes the strut arm may be worn where the bushings go and could require replacement. If you get under the vehicle you may be able to see just how much off center the arm and bushings are and they are right behind each front wheel.