Ford Econoline E Series The full size van is alive and well at FMC, with the heart of the F series trucks in both cargo vans and passenger vans.

Acura RDX Driver Seat Install

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2024, 09:59 AM
Default Acura RDX Driver Seat Install

Hey,
I've got a 2011 E350 Super Duty I have fitted up for travel all over North America. I made it to Prudhoe Bay last year (17,800 mile trip total) and intend travel again this summer. I'd really like to upgrade the drivers seat without investing 10-20% of the vans value in one seat. I've found an Acura RDX seat that I'm really interested in getting as it meet all my requirements. Has anyone tried installing a seat similar to this in an E-Series van? I am an engineer and a good welder - so creating or modifying a conversion base and wiring for the seat is not a concern. Anyone see any land mines in such a project? The only downside I see right off is the lack of an armrest - but other than that, this endeavor looks possible.
Thanks
Tom

Old 02-12-2024, 01:09 PM

Most cars have the seat belt pre-tensioner in the B pillar. The one for the E-Series in mounted on the side of the seat and tensions the buckle side instead of the belt side.

Even if you're willing to live without a pretensioner you would likely need to take some action to avoid an SRS fault and the resulting warning light. Or, better yet, build the original seat belt buckle assembly including the pre-tensioner into your conversion base.

Also, since you're building a conversion base anyway, would it be possible to bring some structure from that base up along the side of the seat back and mount the original (swing up!) armrest to that?

Old 02-12-2024, 04:58 PM