Ford Explorer This long running SUV has stood tough against the barrage of new entries into the mid sized SUV market, and with a variety of engine sizes and trim lines, the Exploder offers something for everyone.

1996 Ford Explorer, any help is greatly appreciated!

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2017, 11:17 AM
Exclamation 1996 Ford Explorer, any help is greatly appreciated!

Hey All!
I just bought a 96 explorer 4.0lt for $500...the couple didn't want it and knew I needed something. I smashed up my 05 explorer about 18 months ago, so I'm INCREDIBLY grateful. She has quite a few problems....To start, there seems to be an oil leak, I'm not good at diagnosing, but I've always figured out how to fix my cars myself. It's coming from the center of the engine, but closer to the cab/windshield. It does get burnt off while driving and causes a good amount of smoke....another issue is HORRIBLE acceleration. She seems to be okay under 30...she's weak but I can safely drive around town for the most part...HOWEVER, FORGET ABOUT THE HIGHWAY...I live in Boston and tried to take her on I93 the other day....My pedal was hitting the floor just to get her to climb to 50-60 mph....i could then ease off and she can maintain the speed, but nothing like she should...Fuel pump? The reason i think it could be fuel is when the tank got down to close to empty (I was letting her burn off whatever was in the tank, as she was sitting up in Laconia, New Hampshire for a the better part of a decade, and then put fuel cleaner and better gas, as this was my first refill since buying it) my "Check gauge" light came on... I changed the air filter, and i still have the problem. one last glaring issue are the breaks/rotors... when driving i hear a slight squeek that seems consistent with a spinning tire (i.e as the tire turns you hear, "SQUEEK, SQUEEK, SQUEEK") until i put the SLIGHTEST amount of pressure on the brake then she stops squeeking. She stutters slightly when breaking at speed of 35mph+, and i