Ford F-150 The entry level full size truck from Ford, one of America's best selling for decades.

Harmonic Balancer Troubles

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2009, 09:33 PM
Default Harmonic Balancer Troubles

I'm no mechanic but doing the best to be my own. I got the truck torn down and trying to get that center bolt off. I used a impact gun with my 120 psi compressor. The bolt won't budge. I want to pound on it and use a 20 inch pipe wrench to resist the pounding. Is this a good way to conquer the bolt?
Does anyone know any tricks to the trade.

I'm unemployed and really trying to save $ in these economic times and false Obama hopes..

Any replies would be appreciated.

Sincerely,

Jason

Last edited by 1994 F-150 5.0 2wd; 05-09-2009 at 09:38 PM. Reason: mispell
Old 05-10-2009, 07:30 AM

stupid question but are you turning it the right way, righty tighty and lefty loosey, and I'm not sure about your truck but some crank bolts are RH thread which means you have to go righty loosey, hope this helps.

Old 05-10-2009, 02:15 PM
Default Thanks For Reply Clay

I do not know either to which is the correct way to turn the bolt but I have tried turning it both ways and still having no luck. I appreciate your advice..

Old 05-11-2009, 08:44 PM

call an autoparts store and ask them to find out what kind of thread the bolt has and if there is anything special you need to do, the store should be able to tell some information that might help you out. You may need to contact more than one parts store. I usually buy a manuel for the make and model of what I am working on but you are trying to go on the cheap so this may be your only choice. Good luck.

Last edited by clayton7453; 05-11-2009 at 08:46 PM. Reason: need to add more
Old 05-11-2009, 10:55 PM
Thumbs up Helpful Advice ...Thanks Clay