Ford F-250 & Ford F-350 The heavier duty full sized trucks from Ford, offering bigger, more powerful engines and drivetrains for the abuse they may go through in the workplace.

Jumping Misfire / Idle issues

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2023, 05:03 PM
Default Jumping Misfire / Idle issues

98 F250 5.4L 4x4 - ~120k miles

Recent tune-up work - within last couple of years replaced MAF, Starter, Alternator. Within last few months replaced all spark plugs, all injectors, all coil packs, fuel filter and HD battery. Mostly stock truck otherwise. I'm a novice mechanic but I pay attention and thru forums/YouTube I have been able to do this all myself with limited help from mechanic friends.

I've been chasing a single misfire code for a few months now. A few times the code flashed while driving and was hard to make it home. I changed the plugs and it went away for a bit. Jumped to another cylinder so replaced the injectors. Went away for a bit then appeared, so changed the coil packs. I'm not trying to throw money round, I just knew it was that time anyway for these smaller consumables.

Each time I do something the truck drives great for a couple months, then randomly has a harder start for about 15 secs then smooths out. Eventually this turns into a single misfire code (p030X).

My latest research turned me onto vacuum leaks. I tried testing that with a water bottle spray and didn't notice any dips in idle, but it was my first try ever at this, so I may not have found enough hoses to try. Another suggestion was getting a vacuum pump tester and check out the EGR's condition. Also to clean the EGR ports.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts!

Matt

Old 04-18-2023, 06:52 PM
Default To quickly add: