Ford F-250 & Ford F-350 The heavier duty full sized trucks from Ford, offering bigger, more powerful engines and drivetrains for the abuse they may go through in the workplace.

Need objective F350 advice

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2005, 12:37 PM
Default Need objective F350 advice

I'm thinking of buying an older truck to pull horse trailers around. I've been looking at a 97 F350 with the 7.3L turbo diesel and 175K miles on it. It's two wheel drive with dual rear wheels. The clutch feels awfully stiff, but I've no previous experience with 'heavy duty' trucks or clutches. The current owner says the clutch was recently replaced with a "heavy duty" clutch, and the clutch is better than factory. For the record the gearing is very low, first gear seems to be a waste (it's a five speed manual). I hooked it up to a 4 horse trailer with living quarters and it still took off in second gear with no problem, and at highway speeds you couldn't tell the trailer was back there. My main concerns are the clutch and the turbo. I've been told by some people that the clutch should be fine, and others insist they go wear out in these older Fords all the time. I've been told by one mechanic that the turbo should last forever, and another insists it will go out every 100K miles or so. If anybody can contribute any opinions or experiences I'd be grateful.

Thanks,
BK

Old 07-16-2005, 02:57 PM
Default RE: Need objective F350 advice