Ford Forum Help & Suggestion Center Need help with FF? Ask. Have a suggestion to better FF? Tell us here.

Lost Newbie

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2020, 04:16 PM
Default Lost Newbie

To give everyone the heads up, I am not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination so if you reply to my issue then be prepared to severely dumb it down. I have a 1993 F-350 XLT with a 460 engine, it died on me about a month and a half ago coming home from work. It just shut off and i coasted it into a parking lot and couldn’t get it to start again, so i had it towed to the shop who told me they couldn’t find anything wrong with it. They drove it and let it run in the parking lot and it didn’t act up at all until the day i was supposed to pick it up then it started spitting and sputtering on them, they came to conclusion that it was the distributor so they replaced it and I drove it for a couple of weeks with no issues. After that it started spitting and sputtering again and wouldn’t stay started, I had the codes ran it they pointed towards the air charge temperature sensor and the engine cooling temperature sensor. I replaced them and also replaced the MAP sensor and the idle air control module after reading some threads on the forum, it ran smooth after that but it would only run for about 10 to 15 minutes then just shut off like i turned the key off. No codes came in and after it shut down the fourth time i gave up for the night, two days later i fired it up again and now it wont stay started at all. I have to keep my foot on the gas and it will spit and sputter but as soon as i took my foot off the gas it would die. I don’t have any ideas left, has anyone ran into this before? Thanks,.

Old 11-29-2020, 10:33 AM