General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

2001 F250 V10 trouble starting

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2021, 09:07 AM
Default 2001 F250 V10 trouble starting

Hello to everybody - New to this site. Have been lurking around a bit and it looks like a lot of good information here...I have a question about something my 2001 F250 Super Duty V10 has started doing. First, a bit about the truck to hopefully answer any questions that might come up in the diagnosis of the problem I've begun having...I bought the truck in May of 2017, with 115,000 miles on it. It was and is still in beautiful condition, both inside and out. It's an automatic 2 wheel drive 4 door crew cab. I maintain all of my vehicles and have done so with this one as well, with all normal maintenance on a schedule. I also know my way around most all of the working systems of any cars or trucks, so I am by no means a novice - not a professional mechanic either, but I can normally fix most anything and have the tools to do it. OK...after all of that - the truck has been absolutely 100% reliable since the day I got it. It now has 149,000 on it and has never skipped a beat in any way. In 3 years, I have logged about 35,000 miles on it, so it's obvious that I don't use it all the time. Many times it sits in the driveway for 2 or 3 weeks without moving. I am in the Southeast, so we don't have any kind of severe weather, other than it gets hot in the Summer time. No snow or anything like that. During those times of it sitting, I do go out and fire it up and let it run for 15 or 20 minutes at a time, to keep the battery good and keep it loosened up in general. Here is where the problem started...It had sat for probably 2 weeks since I had started it. I went out to start it, per my normal routine and it just turned over and over for 10 or 15 seconds without firing. I had never experienced that with it. It always fires right up, but not this time. I tried it sev