General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Opinions about what engine has the best MPGs

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2017, 10:29 AM
Default Opinions about what engine has the best MPGs

Truck/Van application. Most likely with a manual transmission. Diesel or Gas, NA or Turbo. Not while hauling a load, but during normal highway/city driving. It would be great to get some real world numbers from member's experience. I'm new to Ford, so please be easy with me I'm also poor so late model stuff like the ecoboost are out, but I'd like to know what they get in real world use and swapped into older Fords.

Here's a few engines I'm thinking of:

2.0 Pinto Turbo like used in the 80's Turbo T Bird & XR4Ti. Not sure how well this would work. I'm not looking to haul loads and I don't have hills to deal with.

Straight 6 any

V6 any

Diesel V8 IH IDI

Small Block Gas V8 any

Old 06-30-2017, 10:36 AM
Super Moderator

What MY/class of truck or van?

2.3 would be the turbo 4 cylinder. May be under power/ torque for a heavier rig. More so since the turbo builds power/boost at higher RPMs and that's not where you'd want to be to try and produce good MPGs. Trans/drivetrain would be a little lite duty in a full size.

4.9 FI with 5 spd was a very good all around work horse, decent mileage, power and torque. Fairly easy to source.

V6 ?

6.9/7.3ID= heavy ( see weight class, generally needing 250 series or higher for weight/suspension) output power 'fair', expensive if needing build for swap.

Small block and man/auto plentiful, 302 easy to accommodate and or source from salvage yards etc, better if FI.

Back in the 70's we used to retro F series 250/350 with Perkins and Detroit diesels. Sizeable job, costs to convert over fuel mileage gains would take a very long time to see the payoff, if any.