Off Topic A place to boldly go off topic. Just about anything goes.

I need help with a differential

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2012, 01:16 AM
Default I need help with a differential

I taking automatic/manual transmission in my high school. It's my first time taking these classes, and I really want an A, but I'm getting my *** kicked.
I took the differential apart and I can't find the serial number.
I found some numbers/letters on the ring gear assembly and it reads:
C6AW - DMCC

somewhere else it reads:
C6AW 4205-8

I know the Make is Ford, but I don't know the model.

Any idea?
Thanks

Old 10-05-2012, 11:02 AM

I believe that is a Ford 9 inch they put those in damn near every thing with few exceptions.
and about the way I can tell what the gears are by counting the teeth on both the ring and pinion gears you divide the ring gear teeth by the pinion gear and that gives you the ratio like 4:10 3:73 there should have been a tag on one of the bolts that holds the back cover on

Old 10-06-2012, 05:24 PM

Originally Posted by grindman
I believe that is a Ford 9 inch they put those in damn near every thing with few exceptions.
and about the way I can tell what the gears are by counting the teeth on both the ring and pinion gears you divide the ring gear teeth by the pinion gear and that gives you the ratio like 4:10 3:73 there should have been a tag on one of the bolts that holds the back cover on
Thanks for the info.

I done some research and I found out ,hopefully it's the right information, that it came out of a 1981 (or something, have to go back and look at my notes) ford F150 truck. The ring gear nine inches or eight, again I have to look at my notes, but since the differential is super old, and belongs to my high school, everything inside is all mixed up.