Ford Escape The newest smaller SUV from Ford allows the buyer to have the use of an SUV without the hunger for fuel that so many SUVs display.

2012 ford escape xlt best way to remove starter ?

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2023, 11:21 PM
Default 2012 ford escape xlt best way to remove starter ?

hello fordforum my name is Nate

Some background: I am not a mechanic, first of all. I’ve changed brake pads/rotors, batteries, side mirrors, taken apart interior door paneling to remove a Jim that fell in there, done oil changes, swapped engine filters, pried open doors with shims to unlock it with keys locked inside- you get the picture but nothing impressive. I have the part ordered to my house bc I can tell the starter is probably near death from experience. I’m at 149.5k and I can hear it. It sounds just like my last car before it died at 150k. the last one on my Honda died with no warning other than this same noise, when you fire the ignition. I know what an old versus new starter sounds and feels like. So I felt comfortable ordering the part and I am attempting to replace it Sunday because I can’t afford to get stuck out, don’t have family in town. There’s not really a good YouTube video for a 2012 that I’ve found

Where can I access the starter the easiest? Do I need any unusual tools? Does anything else need to be removed to get to it? I think I’m going to have to remove some of the protective paneling underneath the engine to get at it, but I don’t want to do anything I don’t have to. I’ve seen a video where someone could reach it from the side by removing the battery on an older escape, but not sure if the starter is even in the same location on mine