Ford F-150 The entry level full size truck from Ford, one of America's best selling for decades.

1985 F150 Fuel Problem. Please help!!

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2012, 08:17 PM
Default 1985 F150 Fuel Problem. Please help!!

I have a 1985, F150 with dual tanks, fuel injected, and a 302 engine. Its been running great until a couple weeks ago as I could tell it wasnt getting enough fuel. Two days ago I was driving it, and it started sputtering really bad. Then a few seconds later, it completely died. It tried starting right after that, but evertime I pushed the gas, it would die, so I had to get towed home. Now it wont start at all!! From what I have gathered, its the fuel filter, but there is no inline filter? Ive followed the lines everywhere. Ive read that there is a filter in the fuel reservoir but some people say do not take it apart, and others say do take it apart. I just need some input on what to do. Its my only vehicle and Im stranded now, and I am no mechanic what so ever. Any help is highly appriciated. I need to know where the filter is, or what else can be causing this. Some say theres an inline filter right in front of the high pressure pump, but its not on mine. Im confused. Please help!! Thanx in advance

Old 07-13-2012, 08:49 PM

there is a filter in that line just after the selector switch which can be confused with a high pressure fuel pump try looking under the driver door just inside the frame rail or in front of midship tank it could be hidden in a clip that holds the filter in place

Old 07-13-2012, 08:52 PM

Ok, I'll get heat for this, but this is a 'one year' truck that Ford built with that (very) specific type of fuel system. What I mean by this is, is that just about everything on this powertrain was revised the next year. For example (if my memory serves correctly), the airbox on this truck was on top of the engine, not off to the side like every year after.